Dedication

The past couple of weeks of my life have been quite a whirlwind that has come with a lot of change and excitement. This year has been so strange for me on many different levels with no real plan or way to know what was possibly going to happen. As always, I was throwing things to the wall and hoping that they would stick. Summer is always fairly quiet when it comes to auditioning, but I got called in for a company that was looking to work with me on a show in the Spring that I couldn’t do that now had a show that would tour all around Houston, Texas for the fall.

Welp, I ended up booking it and here I am in Houston in a beautiful air bnb! Over these past 2 weeks I have learned a musical in its entirety, staged it all, got someone to sublet my room for 2 months, informed my job and trained a new sitter, and prepared myself to be completely immersed in rehearsals and performances almost everyday for the next 2 months. I am super excited to be apart of this and also just so happy to be performing everyday. Being able to say I love what I do and it’s my daily job is really priceless. I’m a happy sponge 🙂

While I am here, I am going to try to focus in on a couple of things in my downtime. A year and a half ago, I was away doing a show and my castmate was so extremely dedicated to her work in her time off that it would constantly leave me wondering what she was up to. Is there really that much work to be done? Am I slacking? How do I get started? What is she even doing?!

The truth was, I WAS slacking. I didn’t have a laptop yet, was unsure of certain steps that I needed to take, and was too focused on a guy that ultimately was not good for me or my mental health. I honestly would not take any of it back, because now I am far more grounded in who I am, focused, and ready to go. I feel healthy, happy, motivated, and very lucky to be here and although I definitely plan to socialize and explore, I will also be keeping her work ethic in mind to accomplish the things that I want to do before this year comes to a close. (How the hell is it even possible that there are only 3 months until New Years Day?!)

So here are some things that I want to accomplish while I am here and I have already started to do so!

Save money, eat healthy/exercise at least 4 times a week (I started a fitness Instagram with Ruby to stay on track!), work on my website, schedule a photo session for when I am back, plan my trip to Norway, plan another trip before that, figure out student loan payments, read all of the books that I brought, write everyday, watch important shows and movies, bulk up on knowledge of theater’s I would like to work with.

Life is sweet. I’m excited.

Leave a Reply

