Devil May Care

Moments began to flare

as if they were tumbling down from the atmosphere

I felt the intensity of my focused stare,

as I struggled to hold back any real tears.

 

I felt a sense of wonder, I felt a sense

of joy,

I knew the flames would hurt a bit,

but, deep down,

I knew it to be a ploy.

 

I approached the wreckage

with a grim half smile

I was expecting all to have been singed.

But just then I noticed something wild,

and had to know what was within.

 

It was a small box,

warm to the touch,

It had a certain kind of edge.

I tampered with it for a moment,

until I saw what it read.

 

‘Devil May Care”

I read aloud, confused and a bit thrown off,

I felt a real power here,

I didn’t dare scoff.

 

I took a peak inside,

admittedly scared of what I might find,

but the calm that I felt

helped to ease my mind.

 

It was my heart,

staring right back at me,

and it was glowing more than ever,

for it had been set free.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

